top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

A European Adventure: Part I


Of course with Brady living in Geneva, Switzerland, I had to take advantage of the travel opportunities that came with that . . . and I guess being able to see him was a nice added advantage after being apart most of this school year! (If you don't know, Brady has been working on his MSc in Global Health at the University of Geneva since September 2016.) Since Brady's holidays go along with the European system, we decided the perfect time for me to visit would be right at the end of my semester and into May (when I would head home to graduate). This five week time period included his 10 day Easter break and he has long weekends every week so that also worked out well.

So, I wrote my last exam of my undergrad on April 10th and then headed to Geneva on April 11th.

My arrival in Geneva of course included some screams and lots of hugs when we were re-united at the airport. After a quick stop at Brady's apartment, we were off to do some exploring (I was doing pretty well with the time change since I slept very well on the plane ride from Montreal to Geneva - hello a row of seats to myself).

My photographer back in action at the Hôtel de Ville de Genève!

Our next stop was St. Pierre Cathedral where we climbed up some very tiny twisty stairs to get one of the best views of the city.

Construction of this church began in 1160! It is no longer a Catholic Church as it was adopted by John Calvin during the Protestant Reformation. There are services at the church in both French and German.

Being super happy to be together!

The next day, Brady had class in the morning and I slept in (hehe). We met up after his class and did some more exploring. It was so hot and sunny that I actually got a sunburn!

Mont Blanc in the distance.

The Jet d'eau - it's one of my favourite things in Geneva!

St. Pierre Cathedral in the back - we went up into the two towers on their side of the green steeple the day before. They are known as the Northern and Southern Towers and as you can see, they are quite different architecturally.

We had just eaten chocolate croissants in the park...

Carouge - a little suburb of Geneva where Brady's apartment is.

Many more pictures to come, but I hope you enjoy these first few!

H.

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page