top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

4 Cities, 1 Saturday


One of my goals for this trip was to see more of Switzerland. I knew I would get quite a bit of time to explore Geneva (especially when Brady was in class) but I wanted to see other cities too! This was a good plan for two reasons: (a) the only Swiss cities Brady had visited were Geneva (obviously) and Fribourg and (b) Brady had a coupon that got the two of us unlimited train travel throughout Switzerland for one day for 50 CHF. So naturally we decided to take the only sunny day of the week and try to visit 4 Swiss cities. We started out in Zurich (Brady wasn't super keen on going but I insisted - I have wanted to go ever since I saw the episode of Grey's Anatomy where Christina moves to Zurich), then went to Lucerne (where there was a marathon so there were a lot of people - we really want to go back when there are less people!!), then to Bern and we finished off the day by eating the most amazing pizza in Fribourg. It was a packed day and we were exhausted after but it was totally worth it.

Zurich

I LOVED Zurich! German is the main language in Zurich although we heard a lot of English while we were there. The Germanic heritage of the city is also very obvious when you're looking at the architecture. I think that's part of why I liked it so much. I've spent a fair amount of time in Germany so I guess the city felt kind of familiar. Maybe even a little home-y.

There are 4 big churches in the "Old Town" and we were able to go into two of them. In one, we did a tour and saw the crypts, stained glass, etc. (Fraumünster) and the other is where we climbed the tower and got an amazing view of the city (Grossmünster).

Grossmünster Church.

One of the interesting parts about the churches in Zurich is how simple they are (at least on the inside). This has a lot to do with the protestant reformation that resulted in many of the formerly ornate catholic churches being stripped of the elaborate decorations and being left very simply and they have remained that way ever since. (This was a huge difference after seeing the VERY elaborately decorated churches in Sardinia.)

Lucerne

The cutest city (and Brady's favourite that we visited). I really wish that there hadn't been soooo many people around that day. Brady and I probably could have spent much more time there if there hadn't been so many people and so many streets closed because of the marathon. I have to say, what we did get to see, I absolutely loved. I especially liked the snow-caped mountains in the background. It really looked like what I had imagined Switzerland to look like.

Bern

I think Brady and I both agree we could have skipped this city. Although it's the capital of Switzerland, it's not especially cute or charming (at least not in comparison to Zurich or Lucerne). As well, they have weird laws all over Switzerland where everything except restaurants closes at 5pm on a Saturday. We just really wanted some bread . . . but instead we wandered for a bit and took some pictures . . .

Fribourg

Such a cute little city! With the BEST pizza I have EVER had. I know. Soooo random. "Go to Switzerland to eat pizza" said no one ever. But the little Italian pizzeria had the best pizza (way better than anything we even had in Sardinia)! I would 100% make the trip again just for pizza (that was basically Brady's motive for suggesting we stop in Fribourg before heading back to Geneva. Pizza aside, it is a really cute town and I would love to go back and spend a little more time exploring.

We actually met our goal of visiting 4 cities and I couldn't be happier. When we got back to Geneva we were really tired and our feet really hurt but it was so worth it!

Only one week left until I head back across the pond to get ready to graduate and I still have lots to see and lots of blog posts to make. More coming your way soon!

H.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page