top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

Rain, rain & more rain


Since we got back to Geneva from Sardinia, it has rained every day except two. The two days it didn't rain were the days we went on day trips. I have been determined, however, to not let the rain deter me (too much) from doing some more exploring in Geneva on my own. So this post is basically a compilation of the pictures I have been taking in Geneva when it was only *lightly* raining.

Carouge

Old Geneva

St. Pierre Cathedral

I love this church. It is so beautiful and I am actually obsessed. The building is stunning and the view from the towers is breath-taking. I posted a few pictures of it a few posts ago but they were taken with my iPhone. I wanted to take pictures with my actual camera so one day while Brady was in class I went back to the church to take more photos.

Centre ville

United Nations Office at Geneva

The broken chair statue symbolizes opposition to land mines and cluster bombs. Mostly just to remind politicians who are visiting Geneva.

The World Health Organization (WHO in English, OMS en français) - Geneva Office

aka my future place of employment (I hope!!)

Brady thought it was super lame that I wanted to see this but it's just too cool to pass up! (Too bad I couldn't actually get a tour . . . maybe one day!)

This statue commemorates the eradication of smallpox. (The WHO was instrumental in this effort.) The last known case of smallpox was in 1980. The eradication of this virus was possible because it does not have a host other than humans. It's why a virus like H1N1 will never be able to be eradicated because it also infects pigs! (I know, these are details that should be in the science portion of this blog . . . but I just read a book about the eradication of smallpox while I was on my way to Switzerland so I was pretty excited to see this and it's something I just think is really cool!! And, I love viruses - most of you probably already know this . . .)

My time in Europe is ending soon . . . but the blog posts won't be! Posts about day trips to Lyon, Annecy and Lausanne coming your way soon!

H.

PS I grauate in 8 days!!!! Where has the time gone?!?!

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page