top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

J'aime Annecy


Writing this while being home in freezing cold Saint John is really not making me overly inspired but I just loved this city so much. So it deserves its own blog post.

I went to Annecy during the last week of my trip to Europe on a Wednesday. Brady is at school allllllll day on Wednesdays so it seemed like a good day to go. Getting to Annecy from Geneva can be a little complicated. Actually it's not even the getting there, it's the getting back. I was able to take a bus from Geneva to Annecy without any problems. The driver was very nice and super helpful and the drive through the little rural towns was beautiful. Once you get to Annecy, it's very easy to get around because the city (town?) itself is very small. Getting back was a little more complicated because on Wednesdays, the bus route only goes to Annemasse (a small French city at the end of the Geneva 12 tram line). So I took the bus to Annemasse, then had to take the local transit to the 12 stop and then take the 12 back to Brady's in Carouge. I was a bit nervous to be doing all of that on my own (it seemed overly complicated at the time) but it went very smoothly. And I am so glad I was able to go because Annecy is stunning (plus it was another French city to cross off my list)!

Now, for all the cuteness that is Annecy . . .

I would plan to go to Annecy a little bit hungry because there are all kinds of amazing restaurants and cafes along the water so it's a great place to eat, take in the city and relax a bit.

Unfortunately, the super-famous "building-in-the-middle-of-the-canal" (it kind of looks like a castle and was used as a mint and a jail and has had several other purposes over the years AND is the most photographed building in Annecy) was under renovation (*cue crying*). But, as I said to Brady, it gives me a great reason to go back another time.

If you are into nature-y things, you will love this city. You can walk 10 minutes from the old town and come face-to-face with the most beautiful lake. It took my breath away. I spent a long time looking at the snow-covered mountains and staring out over the lake. I would love to go back and plan to stay overnight so I could take advantage of the nature-y activities! There are all kind of boats you can rent to sail (or paddle) around the lake as well as bike rentals - apparently there is a path that goes all around the lake!

PS. Take someone you like with you when you go to Annecy because it's awfully weird to walk along the "love bridge" alone (but it also has one of the best views of the lake so it's kind of a must-see).

There are also beautiful gardens all along the water so, if you like plants, then you will also like that!

Not even sorry for how many pictures of the lake I put up because it is just so beautiful.

If you ever get the chance to go to Annecy, please go. It was beautiful when I was there in May, but I have a feeling it's probably just as beautiful the rest of the year as well. And, do yourself a favour and go to the bakery across the street from the train station. It's amazing and its pastries delicious (and a lot cheaper than Geneva, obviously). `

H.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page