top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

Happiest by the Sea


So I've been really bad about keeping up with this blog since graduation. I'm going to blame this on a couple of things: (1) life has been busy, (2) I've been doing a lot of things in Saint John which means I don't usually drag my camera along with me and (3) I have been enjoying this summer so much I often forget to take my camera with me (in general) or totally forget to take any pictures. Not going to lie, after carrying my camera around for 5 weeks straight in Europe it's been kind of nice to have a break.

Since this is possibly my last summer in Saint John, my parents suggested I make a list of things I wanted to do before the end of the summer. This list mostly consisted of things like "going to the Kingston Market" and "go to New River Beach (check!) but it also included a couple of places that I hadn't visited in years. One of those was St. Martins.

St. Martins is the cutest little town right on the water. And, if you know me, you will know that me and the ocean have a thing so I obviously love it there. It's also pretty close to Saint John so it's easy to just go for the day and get back for ballet class in the evening - which is exactly what Mum & Dad and I did yesterday.

As cheesy as it is, I'm not exactly sure how to put into words how much I love being at the beach and near the ocean. Getting out of the car and smelling the ocean makes my heart very happy and totally content. And of course I then try to document that happiness in pictures . . . so here they are.

Our first stop in St Martins was the lighthouse. I have always loved lighthouses (okay let's be real honest here . . . I am obsessed with anything related to the sea) so this was an obvious place to start.

After the lighthouse, the next obvious stop was The Caves Restaurant (full disclosure: in all of the times I have visited, I have never eaten anywhere else in St. Martins) for fish and chips. After lunch it was time to explore the caves and walk on the beach. The caves are no longer as exciting as they were when I was little and was told that it was where a sea monster lived but I still love walking along the beach as much as ever. I could spend hours walking on the beach and looking at rocks and shells.

We finished off our little day trip with a visit to the Fundy Trail (we just drove and got out at specific points . . . the retired folk weren't really into the idea of hiking)

This visit to the sea has me feeling refreshed and ready for new adventures (and new blog posts). Do yourself a favour and do something /go somewhere you love this summer. (It makes you feel better, I promise.)

"She loved the sea. She liked the sharp and salty smell of the air and the vastness of the horizons bounded only by a vault of azure sky above. It made her feel small, but free as well."

H.

94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page