top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

Family, High Tea & St. Andrews-by-the-Sea


St. Andrews was one of those things that I had out on my “to do before I move to Newfoundland” list that I made at the beginning of the summer. Who wouldn’t want to take a little trip to Charlotte County?! Luckily, I got to visit this area twice this summer (both within the same week). Time 1 was a stop after a day at New River Beach to go to the Clam Digger for supper with Kelly, Steve, Anthony, and my new friends, Ruth and Ally.

In my memory (and according to Facebook) I made more new friends this summer than I have since 2009. Our beach day was no exception and that was when I met Ruth and Ally (officially) for the first time.

Time 2 was a day trip with Mother and Father Wallace. We started off our day a little late in the morning so when we arrived, it was time for lunch. We went to the Harbour Front where we were served expertly by Ally (who was feeling better after a bit of sunstroke from our beach day). Fish and chips (made with haddock) were, of course, on the menu while talk of our upcoming trip and move to Newfoundland and fish and chips made with cod dominated our conversations.

After filling our bellies, it was off to roam the ‘downtown’ and go to the little shops; obviously this was more Mum and I than Dad. Mum and I went home with candy, tea towels, a new bag and lots of laughs while Dad found a nice frame for the most expensive piece of paper I own (AKA my degree) which is now hanging in my apartment here in Newfoundland.

After shopping, it was time to walk along the beach, take pictures and look for beach glass and interesting rocks. This is my favourite part of going anywhere near the ocean.

How adorable are Mother and Father Wallace?!?!

Post-beach exploration, we headed to Tara Manor Inn for high tea. Tea consisted of chicken salad, cucumber, and egg salad sandwiches, smoked salmon bites, scones with jam and clotted cream, chocolate cake, macaroons, Earl Grey-infused cookies, and lemon tarts. The food was amazing and there was so much of it that they ended up making us a little “to go” plate.

I’m so glad that I was able to do almost everything on my list before I left my little NB. This is the last NB blog post for a while . . . . Next up: Cape Breton.

H.

PS. If you're wondering, I'll be back in NB at Christmas (only 75 days until my first semester of grad school is over) . . . so you can be sure there will be more blog posts about my favourite province soon enough.

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page