top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

As a Virologist (during a Pandemic), I Want You to Know . . .


As a virologist, I want you to know . . . that SARS-CoV-2 is no joke. It’s not fake news and it’s not “just like the common cold.” It’s also not like the flu (influenza). It transmits much more easily and seems to have longer-lasting effects on the body than the flu.


As a virologist, I want you to know . . . I REALLY want to give you all a hug. However, I can’t. It’s not safe for anyone. Since there are many asymptomatic infections (infected but never feel sick), we can’t risk that one of us might have it and unknowingly pass it on to others who might be more vulnerable.



As a virologist, I want you to know . . . my biggest fear is not being infected with this virus but passing it on to someone else unknowingly. The whole reason I do research on viruses is because I want to better understand them so we can prevent people from being infected or getting sick. If I were to be the cause of someone else becoming sick, it would break my heart.

As a virologist, I want you to know . . . getting your flu shot is more important this year than ever before. You do not want to end up in the hospital with influenza and contract SARS-CoV-2 at the same time. On top of that, the health care systems had a hard enough time keeping up with admissions due to COVID-19 during the first wave; we can’t risk overwhelming our health care systems with an influx of patients requiring ventilatory support because of a PREVENTABLE disease. PLEASE GET YOUR FLU SHOT.

*This photo was taken in 2019 when we got our flu shots, long before physical distancing and mask-wearing was implemented.*

















As a virologist, I want you to know . . . scientists all over the world are working tirelessly to further our understanding of this virus, test antivirals, and develop vaccines. Science about SARS-CoV-2 is moving at an unprecedented rate. (I hate that word but it’s true in this instance.) No one in science has ever seen a field of scientific study evolve so quickly. Please be patient with public health officials and scientists because the information in scientific literature about this virus is literally changing from day to day.





As a virologist, I want you to know . . . you are NOT alone. If you feel alone, please reach out to someone! My inbox is always open.

As a virologist, I want you to know . . . I want to answer your questions! I would rather you reach out to me with 50 questions than for you to get inaccurate information. Mind you, I am only human and I am not perfect. I may not have all of the answers but I can certainly point you in the right direction.



As a virologist, I want you to know . . . WE WILL GET THROUGH THIS. There are scientists, clinicians, and public health experts all over the world who have trained their whole lives to know what to do and manage situations like this.


As a virologist, I want you to know . . . I am sending love to every single one of you.

Stay safe. Wear your mask. Wash your hands. Keep looking for the light.

H.




173 views0 comments
bottom of page