top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Lou

Good Food. Better Friends.


"Good food. Better Drinks. Best Friends."

I love throwing a good party -- I always have. (Some of you might remember my Grade 10 Halloween party that I waited for for weeks and talked about every day in first period Grade 10 Band class . . . . Sorry, Ms. Sanderson!) I love the planning, the organizing, the decorating . . . everything! Except the clean-up; I can't say that I love that. Who does? With the idea that this could be my last summer in Saint John for a couple of years (OMG!), the idea was hatched in early July that I host a party at my Grandparent's summer house, Graynole, on the Belleisle.

I ADORE Graynole. I have spent many, many summer days there over the years and I LOVE when other people like it. The house originally belonged to my Papa's grandparents (Gillies) and now it belongs to my grandparents. Of course, before the official party planning began, I cleared it with the grandparents and Nannie was just as excited as I was that there would be a party at Graynole.

The planning began early in the summer (obviously) and after some pinterest-ing, I had a vision for the party -- especially the decorations. My best friend, Abby, helped me do all the decorating (especially helpful since she's taller than me). And it was everything I had hoped for. Even though not everyone appreciated the decorations and thought they added to the party (**eye roll**).

Not a lot has changed since my grade 10 parties seeing as the majority of my decorations were still from the Dollar Store. But hey, it works out. This includes the punnet (that's the official word for the string with the triangle banners on it) and the 'PARTY' banner! (I ended up leaving the punnet up and it survived the rest of the summer which included a couple more bonfires and get-togethers. Pretty impressive for Dollar Store decorations!)

I wanted to write this post to show the decorations but also because I have made some fantastic new friends this summer and this party was a chance for everyone to get together.

Also, since I'm in some of these photos, I have to give a shout-out to Michael Crate for being our photographer for the evening. (I'll be marking Mike's photos as they come up.)

I'm ALWAYS cold so then I worry about other people being cold. Having a basket of blankets means, as a host, you don't have to bother people by asking if they're cold; they can just grab a blanket without having to ask awkwardly if you have any.

Special shout-out to Mike for the progression of the next 3 photos: they make me laugh every time I look at them. He also took all the rest of the pictures except for the two that he's in.

Now here go the thank-yous because this wouldn't have happened without some important people. Thanks to my grandparents for letting me use Graynole, Mike for taking pictures, Anthony for being grill master & DJ, Abby for reaching everything I couldn't & listening to my "6-song playlist" all day, Mum for doing all the post-party laundry and a special thank you to everyone who made my last summer in SJ the best one yet; you know who you are.

xo

H.


111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page